UMA logo part 3


Recommended Anthropomorphics List
  2014 list closed

Mail blog now open!
Find us on Facebook


Contacts & Links

Nominations for 2014

Voting for 2014
Begins 15 March 2015

Past Winners:

ALAA's Choice Award

ALAA Hall of Fame

Award Presentations

Logo design by Foxenawolf

      More formally known as the Annual Anthropomorphic Literature and Arts Award, the Ursa Major Award is presented annually for excellence in the furry arts. It is intended as Anthropomorphic (a.k.a. Furry) Fandom's equivalent of the Hugo Award ® presented by the World Science Fiction Society, mystery fandom's Anthony Award, horror fandom's Bram Stoker Award, and so forth. Anyone may nominate and vote for candidates for the Awards. These Awards are decided by the fans, not by a committee.


2014 Ursa Major Awards

The nominations for the 2014 Ursa Major Awards have closed!

To be eligible, a work must have been released during the calendar year 2014, and must include a non-human being given human attributes (anthropomorphic), which can be mental and/or physical; and must receive more than one nomination. The nominees that receive the top five number of nominations will go on to the final voting to be held from 15 March 2015.

Notice: Kyell Gold has indicated that he wishes to withdraw from consideration for the Novel and Short Story categories until further notice. For full details, please read his blog on Fur Affinity.

The Ursa Major Awards have always been run by volunteer members, and all costs associated with it such as maintaining the website, and especially providing the physical awards to the winners, have been borne by donations from the core members. In order to help us with this, and to improve the quality of the award trophies, we would like to solicit donations from the fandom.
The easiest way to contribute is to use the PayPal link button on the left for paypal@ursamajorawards.org, and any donation would be hugely appreciated. 100% of the money received will be put towards the running costs. Thank you for your consideration.

The 2013 Winners

The winners for the Best Anthropomorphic Literature and Art of 2013 were announced at a ceremony at Califur on Saturday 31 May 2014, and are:

Best Motion Picture
Live-action or animated feature-length movies.

Frozen (directed by Chris Buck and Jennifer Lee, November 27)

Best Dramatic Series or Short Work
TV series or one-shots, advertisements or short videos.

My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic (directed by James Thiessen & James Wooton; Season 3, episode 10 to Season 4, episode 7)

Best Novel
Written works of 40,000 words or more. Serialized novels qualify only for the year that the final chapter is published.

Skyfire, by Jess E. Owen (Five Elements Press, December 26)

Best Short Fiction
Stories less than 40,000 words, poetry, and other short Written works.

The Monkeytown Raid, by Roz Gibson (in What Happens Next, edited by Fred Patten; FurPlanet Publications, July 4)

Best Other Literary Work
Story collections, comic collections, graphic novels, non-fiction works, and serialized online stories.

Slightly Damned, Book 2, by Sarah “Chu” Wilson (comic strip collection, self-published, May 1)

Best Graphic Story
Includes comic books, and serialized online stories.

Slightly Damned, by Sarah “Chu” Wilson (Internet, January 2 to December 21)

Best Comic Strip
Newspaper-style strips, including those with ongoing arcs.

Housepets!, by Rick Griffin (Internet, January 2 to December 30)

Best Magazine
Edited collections of creative and/or informational works by various people, professional or amateur, published in print or online in written, pictorial or audio-visual form.

Flayrah, edited by Laurence “GreenReaper” Parry (Internet magazine; January 1 to December 31)

Best Published Illustration
Illustrations for books, magazines, convention program books, cover art for such, coffee-table portfolios.

Blotch, cover of Divisions, by Kyell Gold (Sofawolf Press, January 17)

Best Game
Computer or console games, role-playing games, board games.

Pokémon X&Y (developer: Game Freak; publisher: Nintendo and The Pokémon Company; October 12)

Best Website
Online collections of art, stories, and other creative and/or informational works. Includes galleries, story archives, directories, blogs, and personal sites.

FurAffinity (furry art specialty site; January 1 to December 31)

ALAA's Choice Award
For an outsanding achievement in the genre that was not honored in any of the above Awards.

Children of the Night (animated video by Richard Sirois (Lionheart) and Jordana Gonzalez (Spirit), sung by Kate Covington (Erutan).)

For the full results and voting statistics, go to the 2013 winners page.


Recommendations for inclusion in the 2014 Recommended Anthropomorphics List are now closed.
Please send in your recommendations for the 2015 list to recommended@ursamajorawards.org

To be eligible, a work must have been released between January 1 and December 31 of the calendar year for that award, and must include a non-human being given human attributes (anthropomorphic), which can be mental and/or physical (for example the intelligent rabbits in Watership Down for the former, and Bugs Bunny for the latter.) Simply including an animal character is not sufficient to qualify. Non-animal characters such as Wall-E are also anthropomorphic.

The ALAA reserves the right to exclude from the Recommended Anthropomorphics List, and from contention for an Ursa Major Award, any works it deems to be obscene, libelous, illegal, or otherwise detrimental to the integrity and good standing of the Ursa Major Awards and the anthropomorphics fandom that those awards represent. For example: Works of a predominantly sexual nature, or which include explicit sexual situations involving characters which may be underage or non-anthropomorphic animals.

The Ursa Major Award was administered and presented during its first two years by The ConFurence Group, a membership organization dedicated to promoting anthropomorphic fandom-related events. It is now presented by the Anthropomorphic Literature and Arts Association (ALAA), a membership organization dedicated to promoting anthropomorphic literature and arts through such projects as this List and Award, and others which may be undertaken later. Discussions are currently taking place to improve their effectiveness and expand their presence throughout Furry fandom. All suggestions are invited.

Watch out for SIG meetings at major anthropomorphic conventions!

The Ursa Major Award banner was designed and drawn by EosFoxx. The A.L.A.A. much appreciates Eos' contribution.

'Hugo Award,' 'Worldcon,' and 'World Science Fiction Society' are registered service marks of the World Science Fiction Society, an unincorporated literary society.