UMA logo part 3


Recommended Anthropomorphics List
  2015 list closed

Mail blog now open!
Find us on Facebook


Contacts & Links

Nominations for 2015
Open Jan 14 – Feb 29

Voting for 2015
Begins 15 March 2015

Past Winners:

ALAA's Choice Award

ALAA Hall of Fame

Award Presentations

Logo design by Foxenawolf

      More formally known as the Annual Anthropomorphic Literature and Arts Award, the Ursa Major Award is presented annually for excellence in the furry arts. It is intended as Anthropomorphic (a.k.a. Furry) Fandom's equivalent of the Hugo Award ® presented by the World Science Fiction Society, mystery fandom's Anthony Award, horror fandom's Bram Stoker Award, and so forth. Anyone may nominate and vote for candidates for the Awards. These Awards are decided by the fans, not by a committee.


2015 Ursa Major Awards

Nominations for the 2015 Ursa Major Awards are now open.

The 2014 Winners

Best Motion Picture
Live-action or animated feature-length movies.

Guardians of the Galaxy (Directed by James Gunn, July 31)

Best Dramatic Series or Short Work
TV series or one-shots, advertisements or short videos.

Furry Force (CollegeHumor and Smiley Guy Studios, parts 1 and 2)

Best Novel
Written works of 40,000 words or more. Serialized novels qualify only for the year that the final chapter is published.

Off the Beaten Path, by Rukis. (FurPlanet Productions, July 4)

Best Short Fiction
Stories less than 40,000 words, poetry, and other short Written works.

When a Cat Loves a Dog, by Mary E. Lowd. (in Five Fortunes, FurPlanet Productions, January 16)

Best Other Literary Work
Story collections, comic collections, graphic novels, non-fiction works, and serialized online stories.

Blacksad: Amarillo, by Juan Díaz Canales and Juanjo Guarnido. (graphic novel, English version, Dark Horse Press, October 8)

Best Graphic Story
Includes comic books, and serialized online stories.

My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic, (IDW Publishing, issue 15 to 26)

Best Comic Strip
Newspaper-style strips, including those with ongoing arcs.

Housepets!, by Rick Griffin (Internet, January 1 to December 31)

Best Magazine
Edited collections of creative and/or informational works by various people, professional or amateur, published in print or online in written, pictorial or audio-visual form.

In-Fur-Nation, edited by Rod O'Riley (Internet, January 1 to December 30)

Best Published Illustration
Illustrations for books, magazines, convention program books, cover art for such, coffee-table portfolios.

SabretoothedErmine, cover of Midwest FurFest 2014 convention book, (December 4)

Best Game
Computer or console games, role-playing games, board games.

Pokémon Omega Ruby and Alpha Sapphire (Developer: Game Freak, Publishers: Nintendo and The Pokémon Company, November 21)

Best Website
Online collections of art, stories, and other creative and/or informational works. Includes galleries, story archives, directories, blogs, and personal sites.

FurAffinity (furry art specialty site; January 1 to December 31)

For the full results and voting statistics, go to the 2014 winners page.


The Ursa Major Awards have always been run by volunteer members, and all costs associated with it such as maintaining the website, and especially providing the physical awards to the winners, have been borne by donations from the core members. In order to help us with this, and to improve the quality of the award trophies, we would like to solicit donations from the fandom.
The easiest way to contribute is to use the PayPal link button on the left for paypal@ursamajorawards.org, and any donation would be hugely appreciated. 100% of the money received will be put towards the running costs. Thank you for your consideration.

Recommendations for inclusion in the 2014 Recommended Anthropomorphics List are now closed.
Please send in your recommendations for the 2015 list to recommended@ursamajorawards.org

To be eligible, a work must have been released between January 1 and December 31 of the calendar year for that award, and must include a non-human being given human attributes (anthropomorphic), which can be mental and/or physical (for example the intelligent rabbits in Watership Down for the former, and Bugs Bunny for the latter.) Simply including an animal character is not sufficient to qualify. Non-animal characters such as Wall-E are also anthropomorphic.

The ALAA reserves the right to exclude from the Recommended Anthropomorphics List, and from contention for an Ursa Major Award, any works it deems to be obscene, libelous, illegal, or otherwise detrimental to the integrity and good standing of the Ursa Major Awards and the anthropomorphics fandom that those awards represent. For example: Works of a predominantly sexual nature, or which include explicit sexual situations involving characters which may be underage or non-anthropomorphic animals.

The Ursa Major Award was administered and presented during its first two years by The ConFurence Group, a membership organization dedicated to promoting anthropomorphic fandom-related events. It is now presented by the Anthropomorphic Literature and Arts Association (ALAA), a membership organization dedicated to promoting anthropomorphic literature and arts through such projects as this List and Award, and others which may be undertaken later. Discussions are currently taking place to improve their effectiveness and expand their presence throughout Furry fandom. All suggestions are invited.

Watch out for SIG meetings at major anthropomorphic conventions!

The Ursa Major Award banner was designed and drawn by EosFoxx. The A.L.A.A. much appreciates Eos' contribution.

'Hugo Award,' 'Worldcon,' and 'World Science Fiction Society' are registered service marks of the World Science Fiction Society, an unincorporated literary society.